Page images

culty in obtaining five men of experience and distinction in the profession to supervise the work, and secure its performance with expedition and due economy. The profession has always been noted for its readiness to render service of this kind as a matter of public duty. There need be no apprehension that lawyers of position and standing who accept such a commission will not scrupulously execute it. The expense of the work is trifling, considering its benefits. The expenditure of many times the amount would be warranted, and would be at once conceded for a more visible, and therefore more widely appreciated, benefit. No legislation of the year will have more far-reaching, more permanent, or more beneficial results. To materially improve the form of any considerable body of law is to promote the public welfare in a supreme degree. I commend to the Association a vigorous effort to secure the passage of this bill by an emphatic approval of it at this meeting, and an effective representation before the Legislature. To be instrumental in accomplishing that result will be a signal illustration of the necessity, usefulness and high purposes of the Association. (Applause.)

The President:

The report of the Nominating Committee is next in order.

Frank Harvey Field, of Brooklyn:

In the absence of Mr. Taft, the Chairman of the Committee, I make the following report:



To the Members of the New York State Bar Association: The Committee appointed to nominate the officers of the Association for the ensuing year report that at a meet

ing of this Committee, held in New York City, December 12, 1903, the following names were unanimously agreed upon for the respective offices, and your Committee respectfully recommends their election:

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

Second District.

Third District....

Fourth District . .

Fifth District....

Sixth District...

Paul D. Cravath,

Edward W. Sheldon.

Charles A. Collin,

J. Edward Swanstrom,
James G. Graham.
J. Newton Fiero,
Edward W. Douglas,
George Lawyer.
Edward P. White,
Louis M. Brown,
Andrew J. Nellis.
W. C. Prescott,
A. H. Sawyer,
Irving R. Devendorf.
J. P. Allds,
Cuthbert W. Pound,
Henry B. Coman.

[blocks in formation]


First District - Stanley W. Dexter, George C. Kobbe, George L. Nichols, Lawrence E. Sexton.

Second District R. Percy Chittenden, Townsend Scudder, John F. Clark, Norman S. Dike.

Third District Frank H. Osborn, A. Page Smith, William H. Hollister, Henry J. Speck.

Fourth District-Louis M. King, James W. Lester, Joseph A. Kellogg, Thomas Cantwell.

Fifth District - Eugene E. Sheldon, William H. Kenyon, Fred. B. Pitcher, Ralph D. Earl.

Sixth District - Oscar F. Lane, Hubert C. Stratton, Royal A. Gunnison, Michael H. Kiley.

Seventh District - Frederick L. Manning, John Gillette, Joseph S. Hunn, Sol Wile.

Eighth District Robert Lynn Cox, Loran L. Lewis, Jr., Safford E. North, Lester F. Stearns.


First District — George S. Coleman, R. Burnham Moffat, Theodore M. Taft.

Second District Leander B. Faber, Frederick E. Crane, William J. Youngs.

Third District-Jacob L. Ten Eyck, Seymour Van Santvoord, Russell M. Johnston.

Fourth District - Frederick G. Paddock, John H. Burke, Robert O. Bascom.

Fifth District-H. W. Bentley, D. A. Pierce, S. C. Huntington.

Sixth District Ernest W. Huffcut, Rollin W. Meeker, James Dougherty.

Seventh District — John Desmond, H. R. Durfee, Selden S. Brown.

Eighth District Simon Fleischmann, Clinton B. Gibbs, J. H. Metcalf.

[blocks in formation]

You have the report, gentlemen, which will be received. The next order of business is the election of

and filed.


« PreviousContinue »