Page images
PDF
EPUB

tio

we

wł at slu

] the

wa

tive

оре par tire

1 cha the

sup ing

the

T the and

Balboa town site, independent of the division of municipal engineering While the work of the first two forces was directly under the supervision of the chief engineer, to reduce the cost of administration they were assigned to the quartermaster's department; the force of the landscape architect was placed under the second division of the chief engineer's office.

Effective October 1, 1913, the time keeping and cost keeping for the central division and the cost keeping for the quartermaster's department were transferred to the office of the chief engineer and consolidated with the forces already organized under this office to take care of the time keeping and cost keeping of other branches of the work.

With the admission of water into Culebra Cut by the blowing up of Gamboa Dike on October 10, 1913, the central division was abolished. The remaining dry excavation in the territory covered by this division was placed under a resident engineer reporting to the chief engineer; all surveying work and dredging were placed under the sixth division of the chief engineer's office, and the transporta tion forces, with those of the first, fifth, and fortification divisions, were concentrated under a superintendent of transportation and placed with the second division of the office of the chief engineer; the central division's property accountability was transferred to the quartermaster's department.

Effective October 15, 1913, the concrete work remaining to complete the construction of the locks at Gatun was transferred from the Atlantic division to the first division, which could do it in connection with installation of the machinery and towing tracks with the same supervisory force; similar unfinished work in connection with the Pacific Locks was also transferred to the first division at the same time.

On January 1, 1914, all dry excavation still in progress in connection with the Culebra Cut, the construction of the Naos Island Breakwater, the sluicing operations on the east bank of the Cut north of Gold Hill to relieve the pressure, and the fill of the town site at Balboa were consolidated and placed in charge of Mr. George A. Greenslade, general superintendent, and constituted the fourth division of the chief engineer's office. The auditing of property returns and the making of test checks of property were transferred from the chief quartermaster to the examiner of accounts.

The remaining work in the Atlantic and fifth divisions having reached such a stage as not to justify the administrative charges that the existing organizations called for, these two divisions were abolished on February 1. Their property accountability was transferred to the quartermaster's department and their records turned over to the fourth division, office of the chief engineer. The construc

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

eng Sta

Balboa town site, independent of the division of municipal engine tion of the west breakwater and the operation of Porto Bello qu ng. While the work of the first two forces was directly under the were transferred to the second division of the chief engineer's o upervision of the chief engineer, to reduce the cost of administre while the work remaining at Gatun Dam, El Cano saddle, baci ion they were assigned to the quartermaster's department; the for at Miraflores, Miraflores spillway channel, Ancon quarry, and f the landscape architect was placed under the second division « sluicing at Gold Hill were placed directly under the chief engin ne chief engineer's office.

Effective April 1, 1914, by Executive order and in conformity Effective October 1, 1913, the time keeping and cost keeping for the Panama Canal act of August 24, 1912, the existing organiza le central division and the cost keeping for the quartermaster was abolished and the one contemplated by the act was made e partment were transferred to the office of the chief engineer av tive. Under this organizations there were created a departmen nsolidated with the forces already organized under this office to operation and maintenance, a purchasing department, a supply ke care of the time keeping and cost keeping of other branches ( partment, an accounting department, a health department, an ex e work.

tive office, and a Washington office of The Panama Canal. With the admission of water into Culebra Cut by the blowing The department of operation and maintenance was placed Gamboa Dike on October 10, 1913, the central division was abi charge of the Governor and in the administration of the affairs ed. The remaining dry excavation in the territory covered the department he is assisted by an engineer of maintenance an s division was placed under a resident engineer reporting to ti superintendent of canal transportation. To provide for the rema ef engineer; all surveying work and dredging were placed und ing construction work as well as the maintenance and operation sixth division of the chief engineer's office, and the transport the canal, the department was organized with the following divisio 1 forces, with those of the first, fifth, and fortification divisio The division of terminal construction, which embraces charge e concentrated under a superintendent of transportation 2 the design, inspection and construction of dry docks, shops, coal ed with the second division of the office of the chief engine and fuel-oil plants, floating cranes, docks, and other terminal fac central division's property accountability was transferred to t ties; construction transportation by rail; road, street, and se termaster's department.

work in the new town of Balboa ; and the breakwater construction ffective October 15, 1913, the concrete work remaining to our the Atlantic terminal, reporting to the Governor.

the construction of the locks at Gatun was transferred from The division of erection; the electrical division; the division ntic division to the first division, which could do it in connectis municipal engineering; the division of lighthouses, until June installation of the machinery and towing tracks with the sur 1914, when it was abolished; and the office engineer with his forc visory force; similar unfinished work in connection with were placed under the engineer of maintenance. ic Locks was also transferred to the first division at the sai The dredging division, fortification division, mechanical divisio

and the remaining construction work consisting of sluicing in t January 1, 1914, all dry excavation still in progress in conte vicinity of Gold Hill, completion of Naos Island Breakwater, e with the Culebra Cut, the construction of the Naos Isla cavation in the dry to relieve side pressure in the vicinity of Culebi water, the sluicing operations on the east bank of the Cut nora and grading and filling at the locks and dams, combined in a gener ld Hill to relieve the pressure, and the fill of the town site construction division, report directly to the Governor. a were consolidated and placed in charge of Mr. George The division of canal transportation, under the supervision of slade, general superintendent, and constituted the fourth ( superintendent of transportation reporting to the Governor,

of the chief engineer's office. The auditing of property charged with the safe conduct of vessels through the canal. TI and the making of test checks of property were transferm port captains, the board of local inspectors, the pilots, and the a Che chief quartermaster to the examiner of accounts. measurers of vessels, and, since June 16, 1914, the care and operativ

remaining work in the Atlantic and fifth divisions hari of lights and beacons are directly in charge of the superintendent d such a stage as not to justify the administrative chart

transportation. ne existing organizations called for, these two divisions we Col. H. F. Hodges, United States Army, was designated as eng aed on February 1. Their property accountability was tras

neer of maintenance, Mr. H. H. Rousseau, United States Navy, to the quartermaster's department and their records turn engineer of terminal construction, and Capt. Hugh Rodman, Unite the fourth division, office of the chief engineer. The constr

States Navy, as superintendent of transportation.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

The quartermaster's department and the subsistence department, as outlined in previous annual reports, were consolidated to constitute the supply department, which was placed in charge of Capt. R. E. Wood as chief quartermaster. It has charge of the storing and distribution of all material and supplies for use of The Panama Canal and its employees, and for other departments on the Isthmus and their employees, and for vessels of the United States and other vessels when required. It operates commissaries, hotels, and messes; has charge of the maintenance of buildings, the assignment of quarters, and care of grounds. It recruits and distributes unskilled labor and is in charge of the necessary animal transportation.

The accounting department, as organized, consists of the auditor's, the paymaster's, and the collector's offices. The consolidation was made for administrative purposes only in order to secure economy, the auditor having supervision and direction of the entire department; the heads of the subdivisions, however, are independent in their own particular spheres. The department has charge of general bookkeeping, auditing, and accounting for both money and property, the examination of pay rolls and vouchers, the inspection of time books and of money and property accounts, the administrative examination of accounts as required by law, and the collection, custody, and disbursement of funds for The Panama Canal and the Canal Zone. The accounting department was placed in charge of Mr. H. A. A. Smith as auditor for The Panama Canal, with Mr. John H. McLean as paymaster and Mr. T. L. Clear as collector.

The health department was organized under the supervision and direction of a chief health officer, Lieut. Col. Charles F. Mason, United States Army. This department is charged with all matters relating to maritime sanitation and quarantine in the ports and waters of the Canal Zone and in the harbors of the cities of Panama and Colon, and with land sanitation in the Canal Zone and sanitary matters in the terminal cities in conformity with the canal treaty between the United States and the Republic of Panama, together with all matters relating to hospitals and charities.

The civil functions of the Canal Zone were placed in charge of an executive secretary who, under the direction of the Governor, has supervision of all matters relating to the keeping of the time of employees, to post offices, customs, taxes and excises, excepting the collection thereof, police and prisons, fire protection, land offices, schools, clubs, and law library, the custody of files and records, and the administration of estates of deceased and insane employees. He conducts all correspondence and communications between the authorities of the Canal Zone and the Government of the Republic of Panama, and the diplomatic representatives from other countries. Mr. C. A. McIlvaine was appointed executive secretary.

duci Sub

Mr.

take and of a

1 dist

inc

191 Sur

Ten

unc Tht

fon tim ber

Mr. trai

]

des

Co

unt

REPORT OF THE GOVERNOR.

PERSONNEL.

The quartermaster's department and the subsistence departmer s outlined in previous annual reports, were consolidated to constitu:

The scope of the work of the Washington office remained abou he supply department, which was placed in charge of Capt. R. I

same as previously reported, Maj. F. C. Boggs, United States A Vood as chief quartermaster. It has charge of the storing and dis being continued in charge as general purchasing officer and chi ibution of all material and supplies for use of The Panama Cani

office. nd its employees, and for other departments on the Isthmus au

By Executive order of May 20, 1914, a committee of six men eir employees, and for vessels of the United States and other vessel

was created to arrange and provide suitable ceremonies for the fo nen required. It operates commissaries, hotels, and messes; bi

and official opening of The Panama Canal, as is provided for in arge of the maintenance of buildings, the assignment of quarter

tion 4 of the Panama Canal act. The committee is composed of d care of grounds. It recruits and distributes unskilled labor a

sons who were members of the Isthmian Canal Commission and in charge of the necessary animal transportation.

be known and referred to as the committee for the formal and off

opening of the Panama Canal. The accounting department, as organized, consists of the auditor paymaster's, and the collector's offices. The consolidation

CONSTRUCTION. de for administrative purposes only in order to secure econom

auditor having supervision and direction of the entire depar nt; the heads of the subdivisions, however, are independent : ir own particular spheres. The department has charge of genes

The central division, embracing the same work as described in kkeeping, auditing, and accounting for both money and proper lard, United States Army, as division engineer, until the division

annual report for 1913, continued in charge of Lieut. Col. D. D. G examination of pay rolls and vouchers, the inspection of tir

abolished on October 15, 1913. During his absence on regular anr ks and of money and property accounts, the administrative exur

leave from May 7, 1913, to July 2, 1913, and during the part of on of accounts as required by law, and the collection, custo disbursement of funds for The Panama Canal and the Car

illness from July 29, 1913, to October 15, 1913, the work was e. The accounting department was placed in charge of !

ducted by Resident Engineer A. S. Zinn as acting division engin 1. A. Smith as auditor for The Panama Canal

, with Mr. John Subsequent to the abolition of the division and until January 1, 19

Mr. Zinn continued in charge of steam-shovel work which was und .ean as paymaster and Mr. T. L. Clear as collector. ne health department was organized under the supervisione

taken to lighten the banks, of the approaches to the pontoon brid

and of the Naos Island Breakwater. Col. Gaillard died, as the res tion of a chief health officer, Lieut. Col. Charles F. Mas

of a tumor on the brain, December 5, 1913. ed States Army. This department is charged with all matte

The work of dry excavation in Culebra Cut was divided into t ing to maritime sanitation and quarantine in the ports 2

districts; one extended from Gamboa to Culebra, which continu rs of the Canal Zone and in the harbors of the cities of Panam Colon, and with land sanitation in the Canal Zone and sanite

in charge of Mr. J. M. Hagan, superintendent, until September

1913, when he was transferred to Naos Island Breakwater, relievi ers in the terminal cities in conformity with the canal tre en the United States and the Republic of Panama, toget:

Supt. W. T. Reynolds, who resigned on September 13, 1913.

remained in charge until the consolidation of the construction wo all matters relating to hospitals and charities. civil functions of the Canal Zone were placed in charge of

under the fourth division, chief engineer's office, January 1, 19 tive secretary who, under the direction of the Governor, di

The breakwater was then placed under Mr. Will B. Casey, gener

foreman. The district from Culebra to Pedro Miguel Locks co vision of all matters relating to the keeping of the time of en

tinued in charge

of Mr. M. W. Tenny, superintendent, until Decer s, to post offices, customs, taxes and excises, excepting the no 1 thereof, police and prisons, fire protection, and offices, schi

ber 31, 1913. The transportation division continued in charge and law library, the custody of files and records, and

Mr. A. Sessions until he resigned, on October 13, 1913, when all ti istration of estates of deceased and insane employees. He me

transportation on the Pacific side of the canal was concentrated. all correspondence and communications between the author

The Atlantic division, embracing the same construction work f the Canal Zone and the Government of the Republi

described in the last annual report, continued in charge of Lieu

Col. William L. Sibert, United States Army, as division enginee a, and the diplomatic representatives from other countri

until February 1, 1914, when the division was abolished. He cor A. McIlvaine was appointed executive secretary. tinued on duty as'a member of the Isthmian Canal Commission unt

[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

April 1, 1914. Maj. James P. Jervey, United States Army, resident engineer, continued in charge of the construction of the masonry work of the Gatun Locks until September 26, 1913. Maj. George M. Hoffman, United States Army, resident engineer, continued in charge of the Gatun Dam and spillway until September 28, 1913. On these dates both the latter officers were relieved on account of the practical completion of their work. Lieut. Col. William V. Judson, United States Army, assistant division engineer, continued in charge of the construction of the breakwater at Toro Point and the operation of the Porto Bello quarry until the abolition of the division, when he continued in charge of the same work as assistant division engineer until April 1, 1914, when, on his own request, he was relieved from duty with the canal.

The fifth division, chief engineer's office, continued in charge of Mr. H. O. Cole as resident engineer, and had charge of masonry construction of the Pacific locks, dams, and spillway, the operation of the Ancon quarry, and excavation of the channel between Pedro Miguel and Miraflores Locks until October 15, 1913, when the locks were transferred to the first division, and he continued in charge of the balance of the work until January 31, 1914, when the amount of work remaining necessitated a reorganization and he severed his connection with the canal.

Other officials connected with the work during the year are referred to elsewhere in the report.

SCT bac of fin

ani

COS

po be di di

CO

de ti f

LOCKS AND DAMS.

[ocr errors]

Gatun Locks.-As noted in the last annual report, the concrete work of the locks assigned to the Atlantic division was finished June 14, 1913, with the exception of the lamp-post bases, bases for snubbing buttons and mooring posts, stairway parapets, and the closing of openings left for construction purposes. During the year just ended there were laid 525 cubic yards of concrete in the locks structure at a division cost of $95.2529 per cubic yard (including finishing and calking concrete previously laid); in the construction of the control house, 94 cubic yards at a division cost of $81.2796 per cubic yard, and 9,785 cubic yards in connection with the installation of the machinery, at a division cost of $10.7015 per cubic yard. The construction-plant mixers ceased operation on August 16, 1913. The construction cableways handled 4,111 cubic yards of concrete and were utilized for the transfer of material across the locks after the removal of the bridges used by the contractors in the erection of the gates. The amount of all concrete laid in the Gatun Locks, exclusive of that used in the construction of the control house, from the beginning of the work to the close of the fiscal year, aggregated 2,067,731 cubic yards at an average division cost of $7.2122 per cubic yard. No rock or

« PreviousContinue »